Fields Medalists / Nevanlinna Prize Winner

Congratulations to the prize winners! Congratulations to the Fields medalists and the winner of the Nevanlinna prize! At the ICM'98 opening ceremony these prizes were awarded along with a Special Tribute to Andrew Wiles.

For more information on the prize winners see the press releases No. 182e and No. 183e, from August 18, 1998 of TU Berlin.

The new Fields medalists are:

Richard E. Borcherds
Richard E. Borcherds (Cambridge University; Kac-Moody algebras, automorphic forms),

W. Timothy Gowers
W. Timothy Gowers (Cambridge University;Banach space theory, combinatorics),

Maxim Kontsevich
Maxim Kontsevich (IHES Bures-sur-Yvette;mathematical physics, algebraic geometry and topology),

Curtis T. McMullen
Curtis T. McMullen (Harvard University;complex dynamics, hyperbolic geometry).

The winner of the Nevanlinna prize is

Peter W. Shor
Peter W. Shor (AT&T Labs Florham Park,New Jersey; quantum computation, computational geometry).
For more information see the press release No. 184e from August 18, 1998 of TU Berlin.

Special Tribute

Andrew Wiles
Andrew J. Wiles (Princeton University)

The prize winners presented talks on their work in the course of the congress.

Here are the details:
Richard E. Borcherds
What is moon-shine?
Saturday, August 22, 17:15-18:00, H 2032
W. Timothy Gowers
Fourier analysis andSzemer'edi's theorem.
Thursday, August 20, 16:15-17:00, MA 005
Maxim Kontsevich
Motivic Galois groupand deformation quantizations.
Tuesday, August 25, 15:00-15:45, MA 001
Curtis T. McMullen
Rigidity and inflexi-bility in conformal dynamics.
Saturday, August 22, 15:00-15:45, H 1012
Peter W. Shor
Quantum computing.
Wednesday, August 19, 9:30-10:30, H105 (Auditorium Maximum)

Fields Medal Committee for 1998

Yuri Manin
Max-Planck-Institut, Bonn, Germany; Chairman
John Ball
Oxford University, Oxford, UK
John Coates
Cambridge University, Cambridge, UK
J. J. Duistermaat
University of Utrecht, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Michael H. Freedman
Microsoft Research, Redmond, USA
Jürg Fröhlich
ETH Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland
Robert MacPherson
Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA
Kyoji Saito
University of Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan
Stephen Smale
Math. City University, Hong Kong, China

Rolf Nevanlinna Prize Committee for 1998

David Mumford
Brown University, Providence, USA; Chairman
Alexander Razborov
Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, Russia
Bjorn Engquist
University of California, Los Angeles, USA
Tom Leighton
Massachussetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA

ICM'98 homepage

Please send suggestions and corrections to: pahlig@zib.de
Last modified: August 28, 1998